Senior Fellow at the Tsung-Dao Lee Institute

Distinguished University Professor at University of Maryland

Science Committee——Xiangdong JI

Xiangdong JI

Rotating Chairman,Science Committee of Future Science Prize

Ph.D. ’87, Drexel University, postdoctoral research fellow at Caltech’s Kellogg Radiation Lab (’87-’89) and at MIT’s Center for Theoretical Physics (’89-’91). 

Appointed as Assistant Professor in Nuclear theory at MIT (’91-’96), Assistant, Associate, Full Professor at University of Maryland, College Park (’96-’16). 

Director, Maryland Center for Fundamental Physics (’07-’09). 

Hong-Wen Professor of Physics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) (’09-present). 

Dean of Physics at SJTU (’09-’13); 

Director of Institute for Nuclear and Particle Physics (’09-present). 

Chang-jiang Chair Visiting Professor at Peking University (’05-’10). 

Associate Director, TD Lee Center for High-energy physics, Peking University (’06-present). 

Served on DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (’07-’09). 

Awards and Honors: 

APS Herman Feshbach Prize 2016, Jefferson Science Associates (JAS) 2015 Outstanding Nuclear Physicist Award; 

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award (’14); 

National 1000-Talent Expert, China (’10); 

Distinguished Oversea Young Scientist Award, National Science Foundation of China (’04); 

Chair, Gordon Conference on Nuclear QCD (’00); 

Fellow, American Physical Society (’00).